Cabbage salad (Greek style)

Today I have a great salad recipe for once, for a Greek-style cabbage salad. It tastes super delicious and is super easy to prepare, even in larger quantities. This white cabbage salad is the ideal side dish for the next barbecue or the next party buffet ... ♥

Weißkrautsalat

But of course the salad is not only great for grilling, but also with gyros or on a delicious pulled pork burger. I recently prepared this salad on a gyro plate, which also included mine Tzaziki and a delicious one Flatbread or pide gave. You can already find the recipes here on the blog.

This recipe is based on the white cabbage salad from my “grandmother-in-law”. But I made a few changes, for example significantly reduced the amount of oil, added a little garlic and omitted the caraway. In addition, in my opinion, an initial time of about 24 hours is sufficient, instead of 2-3 days. Most of the time, everything is not eaten at once anyway, so that the rest of the food can go on. Although that's not really the case on the party buffet! Because this cabbage salad is always very popular and goes away very quickly. For a long time I shied away from preparing the salad myself. I don't really know why? Because it is really so easy to prepare and tastes really delicious! ♥

Ingredients for the cabbage salad:

  • 1 white cabbage (not a huge head)
  • 2 onions
  • optional: 2-4 cloves of garlic
  • 2 green peppers
  • 80-100g neutral oil or olive oil
  • 100-120g sugar (alternatively also Xucker *)
  • 30-40g salt
  • 2g pepper (approx. 1 teaspoon)
  • 120-150g white wine vinegar / herb vinegar / brandy vinegar
  • about 400-500 water

Prepare white cabbage salad:

  1. Remove the outer leaves and the stalk of the cabbage. Finely slice the cabbage and place in a large bowl.
  2. Clean the green peppers, halve or quarter lengthways and slice into fine strips. Add to the white cabbage.
  3. Clean the onions, slice them very finely and add them to the cabbage.
  4. Squeeze the garlic and stir briefly together with the sugar, oil, salt, pepper and vinegar.
  5. Pour this sauce over the cabbage.
  6. Bring the water to the boil, let it cool for about 1-2 minutes and pour evenly over the cabbage salad. The salad should then be barely covered with the marinade.
  7. Place a plate or something similar (which is slightly smaller than the bowl) on the cabbage salad so that it is weighed down. Airtight and cover (otherwise the refrigerator will smell) and leave to soak in the refrigerator for about 24 hours.
  8. Either drain most of the stock and serve, or just take a portion out. Thanks to the brew, the cabbage salad can be kept in the refrigerator for at least 1 week. It is best to season again before serving.

Preparation with the Thermomix®:

  1. Remove the outer leaves and the stalk of the cabbage.
  2. Put the white cabbage in large pieces in the mixing bowl and chop for 3-5 seconds / speed 4.5 each. Better to shorten it first to see that the cabbage doesn't get too fine.
  3. Transfer to a large bowl.
  4. Peel and quarter the onions and chop together with the peeled garlic for 5 seconds / speed 5.
  5. Add sugar, oil, salt, pepper and vinegar and stir for 10 sec / speed 6.
  6. Pour this sauce over the cabbage.
  7. Bring the water to the boil, let it cool for about 1-2 minutes and pour evenly over the cabbage salad. The salad should then be barely covered with the marinade. (If you heat the water in the Thermi, you can heat it to around 95 ° C and then immediately distribute it over the cabbage salad.)
  8. Place a plate or something similar (which is slightly smaller than the bowl) on the cabbage salad so that it is weighed down. Airtight and cover (otherwise the refrigerator will smell) and leave to soak in the refrigerator for about 24 hours.
  9. Either drain most of the stock and serve, or just take a portion out. Thanks to the brew, the cabbage salad can be kept in the refrigerator for at least 1 week. It is best to season again before serving.

Weißkrautsalat Weißkrautsalat

Weißkrautsalat

 ♥ Have fun copying! ♥


* Affiliate link for Amazon: By clicking and buying via this link you support my blog a little. I only link products that I use myself and that I think are good. There are no additional costs for you.

Instagram Banner Cookie und Co

* Affiliate link for Amazon: As an Amazon partner, Cookie and Co earn a small commission on qualified sales, which is used to finance part of the additional costs.

New recipes

Add to my Favorites Remove from my Favorites
Add to my Favorites Remove from my Favorites
Add to my Favorites Remove from my Favorites
Add to my Favorites Remove from my Favorites

2 thoughts on “Weißkrautsalat (griechischer Art)”

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

The maximum upload file size: 200 MB. You can upload: image, audio, video, document, spreadsheet, interactive, other. Links to YouTube, Facebook, Twitter and other services inserted in the comment text will be automatically embedded. Drop files here

en_USEnglish

Weißkrautsalat (griechischer Art)

Heute habe ich für mal ein tolles Salat-Rezept, für einen Weißkrautsalat nach griechischer Art. Er schmeckt super lecker und ist super einfach zubereitet und das auch gleich in größeren Mengen. Somit ist dieser Weißkrautsalat die ideale Beilage für das nächste Grill-Fest oder das nächste Party-Buffet…♥

Weißkrautsalat

Aber der Salat passt natürlich nicht nur hervorragend zum Grillen, sondern auch zu Gyros oder auf einem leckeren Pulled-Pork-Burger. Ich habe diesen Salat letztens zu einem Gyrosteller zubereitet, bei dem es auch meinen Tzaziki und ein leckeres Fladenbrot bzw. Pide gab. Die Rezepte findet ihr ja inzwischen schon hier auf dem Blog.

Dieses Rezept ist in Anlehnung an den Weißkrautsalat von meiner “Schwieger-Oma” entstanden. Ein paar Änderungen habe ich aber doch vorgenommen, zum Beispiel die Öl-Menge deutlich reduziert, etwas Knoblauch hinzugefügt und den Kümmel weggelassen. Außerdem reicht meiner Meinung nach eine anfängliche Zeit zum durchziehen von ca. 24 Stunden vollkommen aus, statt 2-3 Tagen. Meistens wird ja sowieso nicht gleich alles auf einmal gegessen, so dass der Rest dann noch weiter durchziehen kann. Obwohl das auf dem Party-Buffet nicht wirklich zutrifft! Denn da ist dieser Weißkrautsalat tatsächlich immer sehr beliebt und ganz schnell weg. Lange Zeit habe ich mich etwas davor gescheut, den Salat selbst zuzubereiten. Ich weiß eigentlich gar nicht warum? Denn er wirklich so super einfach zubereitet und schmeckt richtig lecker! ♥

Zutaten für den Weißkrautsalat:

  • 1 Weißkohl (kein riesen Kopf)
  • 2 Zwiebeln
  • optional: 2-4 Knoblauchzehen
  • 2 grüne Paprikaschoten
  • 80-100g neutrales Öl oder Olivenöl
  • 100-120g Zucker (alternativ auch gerne Xucker*)
  • 30-40g Salz
  • 2g Pfeffer (ca. 1 Tl)
  • 120-150g Weißweinessig/ Kräuteressig/ Branntweinessig
  • etwa 400-500 Wasser

Weißkrautsalat zubereiten:

  1. Die äußeren Blätter und den Strunk des Weißkohls entfernen. Den Kohl fein hobeln und in eine große Schüssel füllen.
  2. Die grünen Paprikaschoten verputzen, der länge nach halbieren oder vierteln und in feine Streifen hobeln. Zum Weißkohl geben.
  3. Die Zwiebeln verputzen und ebenfalls sehr fein hobeln und zum Weißkohl geben.
  4. Knoblauch durchpressen und zusammen mit dem Zucker, Öl, Salz, Pfeffer und Essig kurz verrühren.
  5. Diese Soße über das Weißkraut geben.
  6. Das Wasser aufkochen, etwa 1-2 Minuten abkühlen lassen und gleichmäßig über den Weißkrautsalat geben. Der Salat sollte danach ganz knapp mit der Marinade bedeckt sein.
  7. Einem Teller o.ä. (der etwas kleiner als die Schüssel ist) auf den Weißkrautsalat legen, damit dieser beschwert wird. Luftdicht und abdecken (sonst riecht der Kühlschrank) und für etwa 24 Stunden im Kühlschrank durchziehen lassen.
  8. Entweder den größten Teil vom Sud abgießen und servieren oder einfach nur portionsweise etwas entnehmen. Durch den Sud ist der Weißkrautsalat für mindestens 1 Woche im Kühlschrank haltbar. Vor dem servieren am besten nochmal abschmecken.

Zubereitung mit dem Thermomix®:

  1. Die äußeren Blätter und den Strunk des Weißkohls entfernen.
  2. Den Weißkohl portionsweise in groben Stücken in den Mixtopf geben und für je 3-5 Sek./ Stufe 4,5 zerkleinern. Lieber erstmal kürzer, um zu gucken dass der Kohl nicht zu fein wird.
  3. In eine große Schüssel umfüllen.
  4. Die Zwiebeln schälen, vierteln und zusammen mit dem geschälten Knoblauch für 5 Sek./ Stufe 5 zerkleinern.
  5. Zucker, Öl, Salz, Pfeffer und Essig hinzufügen und für 10 Sek./Stufe 6 verrühren.
  6. Diese Soße über das Weißkraut geben.
  7. Das Wasser aufkochen, etwa 1-2 Minuten abkühlen lassen und gleichmäßig über den Weißkrautsalat geben. Der Salat sollte danach ganz knapp mit der Marinade bedeckt sein. (Wer das Wasser im Thermi erhitzt, kann es auf etwa 95°C erhitzen und danach sofort über dem Weißkrautsalat verteilen.)
  8. Einem Teller o.ä. (der etwas kleiner als die Schüssel ist) auf den Weißkrautsalat legen, damit dieser beschwert wird. Luftdicht und abdecken (sonst riecht der Kühlschrank) und für etwa 24 Stunden im Kühlschrank durchziehen lassen.
  9. Entweder den größten Teil vom Sud abgießen und servieren oder einfach nur portionsweise etwas entnehmen. Durch den Sud ist der Weißkrautsalat für mindestens 1 Woche im Kühlschrank haltbar. Vor dem servieren am besten nochmal abschmecken.

Weißkrautsalat Weißkrautsalat

Weißkrautsalat

 ♥ Viel Spaß beim Nachmachen! ♥


*Affiliatelink für Amazon: Mit dem Klick und Kauf über diesen Link unterstützt Du ein wenig meinen Blog. Ich verlinke nur Produkte, die ich selber nutze und für gut befinde. Es entstehen Dir dabei keine Mehrkosten.

*Affiliatelink für Amazon: Als Amazon-Partner verdient Cookie und Co an qualifizierten Verkäufen eine Provision. Diese wird genutzt um die Nebenkosten der Website zu finanzieren.

Neue Rezepte

2 Kommentare zu „Weißkrautsalat (griechischer Art)“

Kommentar verfassen

Deine E-Mail-Adresse wird nicht veröffentlicht. Erforderliche Felder sind mit * markiert.

Die maximale Upload-Dateigröße: 200 MB. Sie können hochladen: Bild, Audio-, Video, dokumentieren, Kalkulationstabelle, interaktiv, Sonstiges. Im Kommentartext eingefügte Links zu YouTube, Facebook, Twitter und anderen Diensten werden automatisch eingebettet. Dateien hier ablegen

de_DEGerman